Scholarship and Competitions Home Français Links


The Grace Irwin Award for Classics

(Administered by the Classical Association of Canada)

The Grace Irwin Award, worth $500, is designed to reward a secondary school teacher of Latin, Ancient Greek or Classical Civilization who is seeking to upgrade existing abilities by engaging in different types of activities such as an accredited training course or travel to see artifacts/exhibits.

Application procedures for 2010 - 2011

  1. Eligible applicants: teachers of Latin, Ancient Greek or Classical Civilization.  The teacher should have at least one year’s teaching experience and be currently teaching in a Canadian secondary school.  The teacher should also be employed as a teacher of Classics in the year in which she/he would use the award.
  2. Application:  applicants should send a letter of application, plus an up-to-date curriculum vitae, to Catherine A. Mori, Chair of the Grace Irwin Award Committee, c/o St George’s School, 4175 West 29th Avenue, Vancouver, BC V6S 1V1, to arrive no later than April 1, 2011. In the letter of application, the applicant should provide a detailed outline of the purpose for which the funds are to be used and a timetable for the completion of the proposed activity.
  3. Letter of reference: all applicants should arrange for ONE confidential letter of reference (from a department head or administrator) regarding the applicant’s professional activities to be sent to the Chair (address as above) by the same date.

Adjudication process

A committee consisting of the Chair, Vice-President of the Classical Association of Canada and one other secondary school teacher will review all applications and select the winner of the Grace Irwin Award by May 1st at the latest. The committee shall inform the winner in writing soon thereafter.

Report on completion of project

The winner of the award shall submit a brief written report for the CAC newsletter to the Chair of the committee as soon as the project is complete and in any case by January 1st of the calendar year following the granting of the award. The Chair will communicate this report to the CAC council at their next meeting.

Winners and reports

2010 — Marion Hensel, Waterloo, report

Pied de page

© Société canadienne des études classiques / Classical Association of Canada Contact