Canadian Classical Bulletin/Bulletin Canadien des Etudes Anciennes

14.3.3      2007 12 10      ISSN 1198-9149


Editors/Rédacteurs: J. W. Geyssen (University of New Brunswick), Michael P. Fronda (McGill University) & Renaud Gagné (McGill University)





Published by e-mail by the Classical Association of Canada/

Publié par courrier électronique par la société canadienne des études classiques


President: James Murray (University of New Brunswick, Fredericton)

Secretary/ Secrétaire: Patrick Baker (Université Laval)

Treasurer/ Trésorier: Annabel Robinson (University of Regina)




[1] Association Announcements

[2] Calls for Papers



[1] Association Announcements


From:  Martin Cropp <>


(English text follows)



Le comité des candidatures de la SCEC se propose de chercher des mises en candidature pour les postes suivants qui seront à remplir en mai 2008: Vice-président 2008–10 (à succéder comme Président 2010–12), Secrétaire 2008–11 (renouvelable pour un second mandat de trois ans), et trois postes au conseil occupés actuellement par Hans Beck (Québec), Debra Nousek (Ontario), et Chris Simpson (Ontario). Un appel officiel de candidatures sera distribué en janvier avec la sollicitation des réabonnements. Les règles pertinentes à la procédure sont prescrites par les articles #6 et #7 des statuts et par l’article #5 des règlements de la SCEC (disponibles sur le site internet de la Société). Selon l’article 6c, le secrétaire doit avoir complété un mandat à titre de membre du Conseil.

Toutes questions et manifestations d’intérêt peuvent êtres adressées à l’un(e) ou l’autre des members de la comité des candidatures: Leona MacLeod (Dalhousie University), Thomas Schmidt (Université Laval), Martin Cropp (Chair, University of Calgary).



The Nominating Comittee of the CAC will be seeking candidates for the following positions which will become vacant in May 2008: Vice-President 2008–10 (to succeed as President 2010–12), Secretary 2008–11 (renewable for one further term of three years), and three members of Council to fill the positions currently held by Hans Beck (Québec), Debra Nousek (Ontario), and Chris Simpson (Ontario). A formal call for nominations will be issued with the membership renewal mailing in January. Relevant regulations can be found in Articles 6 and 7 and Bylaw 5 of the Constitution (available on the Association’s website). According to Article 6c, the Secretary must previously have served a term as a member of the Council.

Questions and expressions of interest may be addressed to the members of the Nominating Committee: Leona MacLeod (Dalhousie University), Thomas Schmidt (Université Laval), Martin Cropp (Chair, University of Calgary).


. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

[2] Calls for papers


From: Vayos Liapis


Panel on the Hellenica Oxyrhynchia:  Call for papers


2008 is the 100th birthday of the Hellenica Oxyrhynchia:  the first set of papyrus fragments - the part now known as "The London Fragment" - of this important text, obviously a major historical work composed in the first half of the 4th century BC, was published in that year, in volume 5 of the Oxyrhynchus Papyri.  Since that time several new fragments have been published, the most recent in 1976.  The result is a substantial, but nevertheless tantalizingly incomplete, remainder of a second "continuator of Thucydides" besides Xenophon.


To recognize this occasion, and also honour the memory of Iain Bruce, the scholar who produced the first historical commentary on the Hellenica Oxyrhynchia, a long-time member of the Classics Department at Memorial University of Newfoundland, who died a few months ago, we would like to have a session of papers devoted to the Hellenica Oxyrhynchia at the May 2008 CAC meeting in Montréal.  Abstracts are invited on any aspect of scholarship relating to this work.  They should be clearly marked at the top with the notice, "Hellenica Oxyrhynchia panel".


George Pesely                                                 Catherine  Rubincam

Department of History                                      Department of Historical Studies

Austin Peay University                                     University of Toronto                                


Abstracts should be sent by e-mail to Dr Vayos Liapis:



Next regular issue    2007 12 15

Send submissions to